Sunday, June 1, 2014

Sky Fall Series

Rated 4 out of 5 stars
By Shannon Messenger
Book 1: Let the Sky Fall - Book 2: Let the Storm Break

Vane is a typical 17 year old boy, except for the fact that he was the only survivor of a tornado that killed his entire family when he was 7 years old. He remembers nothing of his childhood, his parents, or the storm that killed them. Vane is completely normal, except for the fact that ever since that day- he has dreamed about one girl. Now this mystery girl is showing up in his life for real. Audra is not a typical 17 year old girl. She is a Guardian, sent by the Gales to protect the last Westerly Windwalker. But when Audra makes a mistake and reveals their location to Raiden, the Windwalker that created the storm that killed his family- Audra must convince Vane of who she is, and who he is. They are both sylphs, Windwalkers, Air Elementals who control the wind, and Vane is the last hope against the powerful Stormers that want to destroy the remaining Windwalkers who will not stand with them in their quest for decimation of the human race. Will Vane learn enough in the little time that they have to stop Raiden and the Stormers, save his family and friends, and most importantly- save Audra, his "dream girl"?

This series started off kind of slow, and the maturity level is relatively low. But the concept is wonderful- Air Elementals are definitely original and not an overly explored idea in the urban fantasy genre. Messenger had a brilliant idea with this series, and the second book definitely made up for the first exponentially. The romance between Audra and Vane isn't overly cheesy, and there are twists and turns in the plot lines that you won't see coming. It is worth a read, even though it's more along the lines of Harry Potter with the maturity and content level. I am looking forward to the third book, which hasn't been given a release date yet- hopefully sometime in early 2015. The ending of the second, keep reading for spoilers..

No comments:

Post a Comment