Sunday, May 25, 2014

Books of Faerie

Rated 3.6 out of 5 stars
By Maggie Stiefvater
Book 1: Lament; Book 2: Ballad

Deirdre is a musical prodigy with more talent than even she realizes. When she begins to see Faeries, her Granna gifts her with an iron ring to wear so that they cannot harm her. But apparently, she has the ability to draw them to her with her gift of music. She begins to discover other gifts as well, such as telekinesis and reading minds. The Faerie Queen immediately perceives her as a threat to her reign and dispatches dangerous killers to deal with her. Meet Luke Dillon, mysteriously sexy new guy in town. He immediately draws her affections, but with her enemies piling up: Aodhan- a fairy hunter, Eleanor- a beautiful mystery, and the Faerie Queen herself, can she afford to trust this stranger?

This series is very well researched with a hauntingly accurate amount of Celtic lore. Lament boasts strong characters, (especially Luke who reminds me a bit of Edward with the creepy stalker thing, but in a cute way) thick plot lines that twist when you least expect, and adequate world building. The end was rather abrupt without explanations though, which I find awkward, and the sequel- Ballad does nothing to answer the lingering questions. I was very disappointed with the second book in this series. Dee's character is written as weak and mopey, completely different from the first book. The lead in this story ends up being her best friend, Jack which also irritated me. I just wasn't impressed, although there is rumor that the final installment of the series will answer the question everyone who read this series wants to know. Maggie Stiefvater herself claimed that the first words in the final book were "Luke Dillon". Fingers crossed folks. Book 3, Requiem will be released sometime in 2015. Ugh.

No comments:

Post a Comment